Texas has a mandatory automobile liability insurance law and if you are stopped for any reason, you can be required to shoe proof of liability insurance. The insurance requires must provide:
1. $20,000 bodily injury
2. $40,000 per person per accident
3. $15,000 property damage
A copy of the Texas Motor Vehicle Laws is available from the Texas Department of Public Safety General Services Department, PO Box 15999, Austin, TX 78761-5999. You must submit your request in writing.
If you are resident of the state of Texas, after establishing a new residence within Texas, you must up-date your license with your new address.